Executive Board and Committees

The Administrative and Finance Committee, the Awards Committee, the Policy Committee and the Publications Committee report to the Executive Board.

The Executive Board coordinates and supervises the executive activities of IFAC, in particular those activities in the competence of and carried on by the Executive Committees. Furthermore, it coordinates the external relations of the Federation. It also considers all applications for IFAC membership and makes recommendations to the Council.

The Executive Committees are:

Administrative and Finance Committee

The Administrative and Finance Committee is responsible for directing the work of the Secretariat and controls the use of IFAC funds in accordance with the budgets approved annually by the Council.

It reports to the Executive Board annually and submits for approval the balance sheet and account of income and expenditure prior to their consideration by the Council. It also submits to the Council annually a draft budget for the ensuing financial year.

Administrative and Finance Committee

Name Position Email Country
Hajime Asama Chair asama@robot.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp JP
Kristin Y. Pettersen Vice-Chair kristin.y.pettersen@itk.ntnu.no NO
John Lygeros Ex officio lygeros@control.ee.ethz.ch CH
Kurt Schlacher Ex officio kurt.schlacher@jku.at AT
Martin Horn Member martin.horn@tugraz.at AT
Mehmet Turan Söylemez Member soylemezm@itu.edu.tr TR

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee regulates and controls all award-related activities. It reports to the Executive Board on its work each year.

Awards Committee

Name Position Email Country
Karl Henrik Johansson Chair kallej@kth.se SE
Alf Isaksson Industrial Achievement Award alf.isaksson@se.abb.com SE
Alberto Isidori Quazza Medal alberto.isidori@ifac-control.org IT
Pramod Khargonekar Nichols Medal khargonekar@gmail.com US
Henk Nijmeijer Textbook Prize h.nijmeijer@tue.nl NL
Anders Rantzer Fellow Selection Committee rantzer@control.lth.se SE
James Rawlings High Impact Paper Award rawlings@engr.wisc.edu US
Alexander Lvovich Fradkov Interactive Paper Prize fradkov@mail.ru RU
Iven Mareels Applications Paper Prize i.mareels@unimelb.edu.au AU
Hitay Ozbay Young Author Prize hitay@bilkent.edu.tr TR
Rodolphe Sepulchre Automatica Paper Prize r.sepulchre@eng.cam.ac.uk GB
Masayuki Fujita CEP Paper Prize fujita@ctrl.titech.ac.jp JP
Bernard Grabot EAAI bernard.grabot@enit.fr FR
Martha Grover Journal of Process Control martha.grover@chbe.gatech.edu US
Claire Tomlin Nonlinear Analysis: Hybrid Systems tomlin@eecs.berkeley.edu US
Klaus Janschek Mechatronics Journal klaus.janschek@tu-dresden.de DE
Lei Guo Manfred Thoma Medal lguo@buaa.edu.cn CN

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee advises the Council, at the Council's request or on its own initiative, on the general policy and long-range planning of the Federation, on matters concerning the relations between IFAC and other international organizations and between IFAC and its NMOs as well as on procedural matters and guidelines related to the conduct of business within the Federation and to the organization of technical meetings. It makes a report to the Executive Board each year.

Policy Committee

Name Position Email Country
Lucy Pao Chair pao@colorado.edu US
Sarah K. Spurgeon Vice-Chair s.spurgeon@ucl.ac.uk GB
Graziano Chesi Member chesi@eee.hku.hk CN
Jun-ichi Imura Member imura@mei.titech.ac.jp JP
Nicolay A. Kuznetsov Member nkuznetsov239@gmail.com RU
Martin Moennigmann Member martin.moennigmann@rub.de DE
Dimitri Peaucelle Member peaucelle@laas.fr FR
Maria Prandini Member prandini@elet.polimi.it IT

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee regulates and controls all IFAC publications in accordance with guidelines laid down by the Council and authorizes expenditure on publications within strict budgetary limits approved by the Council. It submits a report on its work to the Executive Board each year.

Publications Committee

Name Position Email Country
Ian K. Craig Chair ian.craig@up.ac.za ZA
Jacquelien Scherpen Vice-Chair j.m.a.scherpen@rug.nl NL
Ajith Abraham Ex officio ajith.abraham@ieee.org US
Tamer Basar Ex officio basar1@Illinois.edu US
Robert Bitmead Ex officio rbitmead@ucsd.edu US
Paolo Bolzern Ex officio bolzern@elet.polimi.it IT
Denis Dochain Ex officio denis.dochain@uclouvain.be BE
Alessandro Giua Ex officio giua@diee.unica.it IT
Andreas Kugi Ex officio kugi@acin.tuwien.ac.at AT
Francoise Lamnabhi-Lagarrigue Ex officio Francoise.Lamnabhi-Lagarrigue@l2s.centralesupelec.fr FR
Reza Moheimani Ex officio Reza.Moheimani@utdallas.edu US
Juan A. de la Puente Ex officio jpuente@dit.upm.es ES
Kurt Schlacher Ex officio kurt.schlacher@jku.at AT
Andrew R. Teel Ex officio teel@ece.ucsb.edu US
Jie Chen Member jichen@cityu.edu.hk CN
Johan Derik le Roux Member derik.leroux@up.ac.za ZA
Lorenzo Marconi Member lorenzo.marconi@unibo.it IT
Hyungbo Shim Member hshim@snu.ac.kr KR
Linda Bushnell Permanent Guest (TB liaison) LB2@uw.edu US
Patrizio Colaneri Permanent Guest (TB liaison) patrizio.colaneri@polimi.it IT