Council and Advisors

Council

The Council is responsible to the General Assembly for the management of the Federation. It receives its mandate from the General Assembly and reports to it on the state of the Federation not less frequently than at each Triennial Congress.

Subject only to the directions of the General Assembly, the Council will formulate the policies of the Federation, in relation to the world community of control engineers, the National Member Organizations, intergovernmental and other non-governmental international professional organizations. It shall develop the long-term plans of the Federation for approval by the General Assembly and shall instruct the various boards and committees of IFAC accordingly.

The Council shall direct and supervise the functioning of the Federation, including both the technical and the executive activities. It will delegate particular functions to the appropriate boards and committees and will from time to time receive activity reports from those boards and committees.

Council

Name Position Email Country
Frank Allgöwer President frank.allgower@ist.uni-stuttgart.de DE
Hajime Asama President-Elect asama@robot.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp JP
Dong-Il Cho Vice-President (Technical Board) dicho@snu.ac.kr KR
Paul M.J. Van den Hof Vice-President (Executive Board) P.M.J.vandenhof@tue.nl NL
Janan Zaytoon Immediate Past President janan.zaytoon@univ-reims.fr FR
John Lygeros Treasurer lygeros@control.ee.ethz.ch CH
Tariq Samad Ex officio samad@ieee.org US
Luis Bergh Ordinary Member luis.bergh@usm.cl CL
Jozsef Bokor Ordinary Member bokor@sztaki.hu HU
Eduardo F. Camacho Ordinary Member eduardo@esi.us.es ES
Emilia Fridman Ordinary Member emilia@eng.tau.ac.il IL
Huijun Gao Ordinary Member huijungao@gmail.com CN
Jaime Alberto Moreno Perez Ordinary Member jmorenop@iingen.unam.mx MX
Radhakant Padhi Ordinary Member padhi@aero.iisc.ernet.in IN
Ian R. Petersen Ordinary Member i.r.petersen@gmail.com AU
Kristin Y. Pettersen Ordinary Member kristin.y.pettersen@itk.ntnu.no NO
Sarah K. Spurgeon Ordinary Member s.spurgeon@ucl.ac.uk GB
Alexander M. Tarasyev Ordinary Member tam@imm.uran.ru RU
Dawn Tilbury Ordinary Member tilbury@umich.edu US

Advisors

Upon retirement, any elected IFAC Officer may be appointed an Advisor for life by the President of IFAC.

IFAC Advisors may be consulted by the active officers on any matter related to the Federation or given special assignments as the President deems appropriate.

Advisors

Name Position Email Country
Pedro Albertos Advisor pedro@aii.upv.es ES
Brian D.O. Anderson Advisor brian.anderson@anu.edu.au AU
Tamer Basar Advisor basar1@Illinois.edu US
Sergio Bittanti Advisor bittanti@elet.polimi.it IT
Ian K. Craig Advisor ian.craig@up.ac.za ZA
Francis J. Doyle III Advisor frank_doyle@seas.harvard.edu US
Peter Fleming Advisor p.fleming@sheffield.ac.uk GB
Janos Gertler Advisor jgertler@gmu.edu US
Roger Goodall Advisor r.m.goodall@lboro.ac.uk GB
Lino Guzzella Advisor lguzzella@ethz.ch CH
Abraham Haddad Advisor ahaddad@eecs.northwestern.edu US
Gusztav Hencsey Advisor hencsey.gusztav@gmail.com HU
Rolf Isermann Advisor risermann@iat.tu-darmstadt.de DE
Alberto Isidori Advisor alberto.isidori@ifac-control.org IT
Stephen J. Kahne Advisor s.kahne@ieee.org US
Hidenori Kimura Advisor hkimura@brain.riken.jp JP
Vladimir Kucera Advisor Vladimir.Kucera@cvut.cz CZ
Wook-Hyun Kwon Advisor whkwon@dgist.ac.kr KR
Lennart Ljung Advisor ljung@isy.liu.se SE
Mohamed Mansour Advisor mansour@control.ee.ethz.ch CH
Iven Mareels Advisor i.mareels@unimelb.edu.au AU
Michael K. Masten Advisor m.masten@verizon.net US
Tibor Vamos Advisor vamos@sztaki.hu HU

Other

Name Position Email Country
Yong-Zai Lu Member yongzailu@yahoo.com US
Kurt Schlacher Secretary kurt.schlacher@jku.at AT